大奖赛详细信息

样机测试说明

全球制冷技术创新大奖赛将根据《申请技术详细说明表》选出最多 10 个入围团队,各开发和生产 2 台样机在印度实验室和实地环境下接受性能测试。

样机将接受一系列测试的评估,包括印度季 节性制冷能效比(ISEER)实验室测试、实验室模拟全年性能测试以及实地测试。

学到更多

技术评审委员会将评估参赛团队《申请技术详细说明》,选出前十名入围团队。每个入围团队将获得20万美元的奖金用于支持开发样机,并且运送至印度进行测试。测试阶段为2020年5月至9月。
Black-Power

印度季节性制冷能效比(ISEER)实验室测试

详细说明

ISEER 评分测试由印度能源效率局(BEE)开发,旨在评估空气调节器在 24-42 摄氏度的温度范
围内年运行 1600 小时的制冷能耗与冷负荷。
每个入围团队的首台样机将被送往经测试与校准实验室国家认证委员会(NABL)认证的实验室
接受 ISEER 评分测试。实验室将依据 ISO 16358-1:2013、IS 1391(第 1 部分):2017 和 IS 1391(第
2 部分):2018 标准,对样机进行测试,并确定样机在标准测试条件下可以ᨀ供 1.5 冷吨制冷量的能
力。测试将以适用于样机设计(包括一体式与分体式)测试的 IS 1391 标准为准。印度市场当前最佳
技术的 ISEER 得分为 7,分数低于这一数值的样机将不具备比赛资格。
对于使用新兴及替代技术而无法按照标准 ISEER 要求进行测试的样机,技术评审委员会将全权
按照具体情况进行评估。

Black-Thermostat - Climate Impact

实验室模拟全年性能测试

详细说明

每个入围团队的第二台样机将被送往印度古吉拉邦艾哈迈达 CEPT 大学的一座水平先进的实验室进行测试。参赛样机和基准机型都将接受最多 12 天的测试。
该实验室的设计将包括两个气候控制仓:
- 内舱:用于安装空气调节器
- 外舱:用于模拟室外环境
包括基准机型在内的样机将在实验室环境下接受一系列模拟全年天气状况的性能评估。内舱环境将通过使用电阻加热、控制渗透和加湿器等手段模拟内部条件(照明、渗透、电器、居住者等),从而模拟房间的日常显热负荷和潜热负荷。外舱环境将为本阶段测试模拟 10 天不同的天气状况,在干球温度和相对湿度方面从温和状况逐渐变得严酷,直到最终的极端状况。查看这 10 天的详细天气状况,链接如下:
http://globalcoolingprize.org/prize-details/testing-protocol/

在整个测试阶段内,各样机与基准机型都应能够在以上᧿述的不同室外环境下维持干球温度低于 27°C、相对湿度 60%的室内状态。所有测试机型都将以运行模式持续运行 10 天的时间,其中不包括不同测试天气之间的过渡和适应时间,并根据样机每天的表现按照一定的权重比例推测其全年的性能状况。测试阶段中期的数天代表了干球温度和相对湿度的总体季节性波动状况,并将构成一年中的大多数情况。在推测全年性能表现时,样机开始运行的测试首日的温和天气在全年天气状况中的比重不会超过 5%,而代表最具挑战天气状况的极端天气在全年天气状况中的比重不会超过 1%。
未满足条件小时数:测试中,基准机型会有若干小时无法保持低于 27°C 干球温度和 60%相对湿度的目标室内状态。在此基础上,参赛样机还将得到占测试总时间 3.4%的额外未满足条件小时数,用以反映样机在启动期和运行精度上与经过完善开发的基准机型之间可能存在的差距。下方公式将被用来判断技术方案在测试期间的额外未满足条件小时数。
测试日内加权未满足条件小时数 = 测试日实际未满足条件小时数 * 测试日权重 * 测试天数
基准机型与样机维持期望达成的室内状态的能力及其对应技术标准的性能表现将在测试阶段末期进行对比,从而确定样机的相对性能。

Black-Operations

实地测试

详细说明

样机还将在印度某处住宅公寓接受实地测试。这些公寓位于中高层建筑中,朝南,具有相同比例外墙面积比,并具备 1.5 冷吨空气调节器能够实现的标准冷负荷。参赛技术的实地测试将与一部在同等条件公寓运行的标准 1.5 冷吨、3.5制冷能效比、小型分体式空气调节器的对比测试同时进行,大赛组织者将确保所有测试公寓在测试过程中具备相似的测试条件。
在将参赛样机安装在公寓中并开始测试之前,组织者将确保以下事项:
- 公寓将无人居住,从而限制因人为因素造成的负荷波动。
- 测试公寓的面积完全相同,并且在包括太阳得热、遮阳条件、外墙性能等的各个方面都保持实质上的相同水平。组织者将运用热成像技术确保各测试公寓具备相似的外墙性能。
- 组织者将在每一套测试公寓内使用鼓风门测试来确保相同的气密性。在可行条件下,组织者将适当增强或减弱外墙气密性,从而确保所有公寓具备相同的气密性能。
- 组织者将对厨房和排风扇气流进行测量和调整,确保所有公寓具备相同的气流量。
- 组织者将确保安装样机所需的其他任何调整工作。

检查工作完成后,组织者将在这些公寓中安装并测试样机与基准机型的性能。其目的是评估样机在测试期间在印度酷热、湿热、干热气候条件下维持低于 27 °C 干球温度和 60%相对湿度的目标室内状态的能力,同时根据各项技术标准证明样机的性能。除了技术标准中对样机性能的所有要求外,运行需要用水的制冷解决方案在任意实地测试日内的用水量都不得超过 28 升。
未满足条件小时数:测试中,基准机型会有若干小时无法保持低于 27°C 干球温度和 60%相对湿度的目标室内状态。在此基础上,参赛样机还将得到占测试总时间 3.4%的额外未满足条件小时数,用以反映实地测试中样机在启动期和运行精度上与经过完善开发的基准机型之间可能存在的差距。样机的性能将与安装在相同条件公寓中的基准机型进行对比,并根据相同的室外与室内负荷来确定其相对性能。

Prize Details

Testing Protocol

The Global Cooling Prize will shortlist up to 10 finalists based on their Technical Applications to develop and produce two prototypes of their cooling solution which will be tested for performance under laboratory and real-world conditions in India.

Prototypes will be evaluated based upon a series of tests that include an Indian Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (ISEER) laboratory test, a lab simulated year-round performance test, and a field test.

Learn More

The Technical Review Committee will evaluate the Detailed Technical Applications of the participants and select up to 10 teams. These finalists will then each be awarded up to US$200,000 which they will use to support the development and production of two prototypes of their cooling solution and ship it to India (if manufactured outside India) for the testing purposes. The testing phase will span over a period from May to September 2020.
Black-Power

Indian Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (ISEER) laboratory test

Explanation

The ISEER rating test, developed by the Bureau of Energy Efficiency (BEE) in India, assesses the cooling energy consumption and cooling load met by the air conditioner across a temperature range of 24°C to 43°C for 1,600 annual operating hours.

The first prototype of each selected participant will be sent to a National Accreditation Board for Testing and Calibration Laboratories (NABL) accredited lab for ISEER rating. The laboratory will conduct testing in accordance with ISO 16358-1:2013, IS 1391 (Part 1): 2017, and IS 1391 (Part 2): 2018 and will determine the prototype’s ability to deliver 1.5 TR cooling capacity under standard test conditions. The IS 1391 standard, as applicable to the testing of prototype design (example: unitary or split type), will be followed accordingly. The prototypes that receive an ISEER rating of less than 7 will be disqualified considering the fact that it is lower than the best available technology in market in India already.

The prototypes using novel and alternative technologies which cannot be tested in accordance with the standard ISEER requirements will be evaluated on a case by case basis at the sole discretion of the Technical Review Committee.

CLOSE
Black-Thermostat - Climate Impact

Lab simulated year-round performance test

Explanation

The second prototype of each selected participant will be tested in a state-of-the-art laboratory environment at the CEPT University laboratory in Ahmedabad, Gujarat in India. Each competing technology including the baseline unit will be tested for up to 12 days.

The laboratory set-up will include two climate-controlled chambers:

- Internal chamber: where the air conditioning unit will be installed
- External chamber: which simulates the outdoor conditions

The prototype units including the baseline unit will be tested in the lab environment to evaluate their performance through a series of conditions simulating the range of a full year. The internal conditions will be simulated to represent a typical daily sensible and latent load profile observed in a home for internal gains (lighting, infiltration, appliances, occupants etc.) using electric resistance heat, controlled infiltration, and humidifier. The external conditions, for this test, will be simulated based on a set of 10 daily weather profiles that start from a mild day (with respect to DBT and RH) and end at an extreme day (with respect to DBT and RH) with conditions becoming more challenging each successive day.

These select 10 days profile can be found here.

The prototypes and the baseline unit should be able to maintain below 27°C DBT and 60% RH indoor conditions under the above varying outdoor conditions for the duration of the test period. All the units will be operated for these 10 days in continuous operation mode, excluding day to day transition and stabilization, and the performance will be extrapolated using an assigned weighting for each day to give annual performance. The middle days of the testing period represent the aggregate seasonal variation in DBT and RH and will account for the majority of the weighting for annual days. The weighting for the mild day (starting day), where prototypes will commence operation, is likely to have a weighting of no more than 5% and each extreme day, which represent the most challenging conditions, is likely to have a weighting of no more than 1% when extrapolating to annual performance.

Unmet hours allowance: In addition to the number of hours that the baseline unit does not achieve the desired indoor conditions of below 27°C DBT and 60% RH, an additional allowance of 3.4% hours of the test period will be provided recognizing that the ramp up period and precision of operation of prototypes is likely to be less than that of the established baseline unit. The below formula can be used to estimate the number of additional unmet hours of the technology during the test period.

Weighted unmet hours of a test day = Actual no. of unmet hours on a test day * test day weighting * no. of test days

The ability of the baseline unit and the prototypes to maintain the desired indoor conditions and their performance against the technical criteria, will be compared at the end of the test period to determine the relative performance.

CLOSE
Black-Operations

Field test

Explanation

The prototypes will also undergo a field test in an actual residential apartment in India. The apartments will be selected in a mid to high rise building and will be representative of the apartments that are south-facing with proportionately equivalent exterior wall surface area and have a typical cooling load that can be met by a 1.5 TR air conditioner. The testing of the competing technologies in these apartments will be carried out in parallel with a typical 1.5 TR 3.5 W/W EER mini-split air conditioner in an equivalent apartment and the organizers will ensure that similar conditions are observed during the test across all apartments.

Prior to installation and testing of the competing prototypes in the apartments, the organizers will ensure the following:
- The apartments will remain unoccupied to limit variation in loads due to human behavior.
- The apartments are identical in size and materially equivalent in every other aspect including the solar gain, shading conditions, envelope characteristics etc. Thermal imaging to be done to ensure similar envelope characteristics between test units.
- A blower door test is conducted in each apartment unit to ensure an equivalent air tightness. Wherever necessary, envelope will be properly sealed or leaked to ensure that air tightness characteristics are equivalent across all the apartments.
- Airflow measurements are taken for kitchen and exhaust fans, and adjustments are made to ensure even flow rates between units.
- Any modification that may be required to fit the prototype unit will be noted.

After conducting the checks, the organizers will install and test the performance of prototypes and baseline unit in these apartments. The objective is to assess the prototype’s ability to maintain the indoor conditions below 27 °C dry bulb temperature (DBT) and relative humidity 60% for the duration of test period in a hot and humid / hot and dry climate in India while demonstrating performance against the technical criteria. In addition to all the performance metrics of the technical criteria, on any given day of the field test the cooling solution should not consume more than 28 liters of water, if required for operation.

Unmet hours allowance: In addition to the number of hours that the baseline unit does not achieve the desired indoor conditions of below 27°C DBT and 60% RH, an additional allowance of 3.4% hours of the test period will be provided to the competing technologies recognizing that the ramp up period and precision of operation of prototypes is likely to be less than that of the established baseline unit during the field test.

The performance of the prototype will be compared to the baseline unit installed in a materially equivalent apartment and subject to the same external and internal loads in order to determine its relative performance.

CLOSE