大奖赛详细信息

评奖标准

全球制冷技术创新大奖赛的评奖标准基于技术最终性能,确保任何技术均有获奖的可能。评奖标准包括两大主要标准(气候影响和经济性)和补充标准,所有参赛技术都应满足这些标准。

所有的性能指标都将与基准机型进行对比

学到更多

基准机型

详细说明
基准机型是1.5冷吨(TR)、定频、制冷能效比(EER)为3.5、使用全球变暖潜能值(GWP)为2088的R410A作为制冷剂的分体式空调机。根据落基山研究所对印度新德里一套东南朝向90平方米的公寓进行的能耗模拟,基准空调机型的年耗电量为2969千瓦时。
原理阐述
基准机型以2018年市场最常见、能效为平均值的房间空调器为参照。2018年,定频空调机组占印度住宅空调市场的绝大部分比例。通过研究报告和制造商网站信息,我们发现定频、EER为3.5、制冷剂为R410A的分体式空调是2018年市场上最具代表性的销售机型。
Black-Thermostat - Climate Impact

气候影响:能耗与制冷剂

气候影响(能耗与制冷剂排放)必须减少至基准机型的1/5

详细说明

该制冷解决方案必须能够将气候影响相比基准机型降低至少80%。对气候影响的评估会综合考虑电力消耗的减少和所使用制冷剂全球变暖潜能值(GWP)的下降。制冷解决方案对用电量节约和制冷剂性能的评估在总体气候影响评判中的权重为80:20。电力消耗的减少还需要通过实验室和实际环境的双重测试。

原理阐述

新兴经济体的制冷需求有望在未来30年内增长到现在的5倍。为了抵消制冷需求激增造成的温室气体(GHG)排放的增加,世界亟需一种气候影响降低至当前1/5的制冷解决方案 (5X解决方案)。我们相信5X解决方案是一种可行的,然而尚未被实现的突破性技术。当前最佳水平的空调机型已经能够将气候影响降低至基准水平的1/3.5。通过研究一系列突破性技术,我们得出了一条结合当前现有技术即可实现电网电力消耗量降低80%的理论制冷技术路径。如果同时使用全球变暖潜能值(GWP)更低的制冷剂,我们完全能够超越5X气候影响力的要求。

落基山研究所的模型以及技术和经济评估小组(TEAP)于2018年发布的报告显示,考虑到新兴经济体市场电网排放强度因子,制冷剂排放和运行排放在房间空调器寿命周期内温室气体排放总量中的占比分别约为20%和80%,因而确定了耗电量和制冷剂的权重比例。

评估与得分

要实现5X气候影响力,综合考虑用电消耗和制冷剂全球变暖潜能值(GWP)的气候影响需要比基准值降低80%。例如,如果一项技术在耗电量基准值基础上实现了75%的节约,并使用了一种GWP值为0的制冷剂,即在GWP基准值(R410A的GWP值为2088)基础上降低100%,那么按照80:20的权重比例计算,该技术的总体气候影响下降80%。在基准值基础上降低的百分比将被转换为相应的分数。在基准值基础上降低0%的技术将得到0分。在基准值基础上降低100%的技术将得到100分。降低幅度在0%到100%之间的任意百分比将按比例换算为0-100的分数。

如果参赛团队可以证明其参赛技术能够通过单独设备性能提升和相关联系统能耗降低(例如降低生活热水的能耗)相结合的方式实现5X气候影响力,技术评审委员会可以考虑该方案满足气候影响评判标准。在这种情况下,技术评审委员会将考虑相应的增量气候影响并给予方案合理的额外分数。

这种评分方式将用来评估参赛方案的《申请技术详细说明表》并选出前十名入围团队。如果入围团队总数不到10个,技术评审委员会可能会邀请参赛技术方案满足如下条件的团队开发样机并进行测试:1)参赛技术方案满足除“气候影响”之外其他所有标准;2)目前参赛技术方案的气候影响已在基准值基础上实现至少64%降低;3)参赛技术方案展示出未来能够实现气候影响降低80%以上的潜力。

在对基准机型和参赛解决方案进行实验室测试和实地测试后,前十名制冷解决方案将依据评分标准重新打分。

举例

如果一项技术能够在耗电量基准值基础上实现75%的节约,并使用一种GWP值为0的制冷剂,即在GWP基准值基础上降低100%,那么按照80:20的权重比例计算,该技术的气候影响下降百分比为80%,因此可获得80分。类似地,如果一项技术完全利用集成在设备之内的太阳能光伏设备供电,并且体积大小不超过尺寸要求,同时使用GWP值为0的制冷剂,则这项技术可以在基准值基础上降低100%,因此可获得100分。

Black-Affordability

经济性

必须证明在规模化生产时的成本不会高于基准机型成本的2倍

详细说明

参赛方案在生产规模下的前期成本必须不超过基准解决方案成本的2倍。参赛技术的前期成本将由工业工程专家组以10万台产量的生产规模进行评估。该工业工程专家组将使用参赛团队所提交的物料清单计算评估成本。评估成本再加上标准分销成本和利润将得出消费者的不含商品和服务税(GST)的购买成本。

如果参赛方案在设计中需要任何可再生能源发电以实现5X气候影响力,则该部分可再生能源发电成本也将被计入总成本之中,即包括可再生能源发电成本的总成本不得超过基准空调机型成本的2倍。

下文提供的2017-2018年度基准机型的消费者成本将作为参考,帮助参赛团队确定其样机的目标成本。基准机型的成本将由技术评审委员会根据前一年市场占有率最高的厂家提供的1.5 TR、定频、能效3星分体式空调的平均成本确定。

原理阐述

参赛制冷技术将根据成本评估得到相应的分数。假设成本为0的技术将得到40分,基准机型成本5倍水平的技术将得到0分。任何在0和基准水平5倍之间的成本都将按比例得到相应的分数。(一倍成本得32分,两倍成本得24分,三倍成本得16分,四倍成本得8分)

如果一项参赛技术无法满足成本增加不超过1倍的标准,但参赛团队可以证明其参赛制冷技术能够降低相关联系统成本,技术评审委员会可以考虑该方案满足经济性评判标准并认可其相关成本节约。

评估和评分

达到2X成本标准的解决方案将获得总计100分。我们还结合了零成本的假设情况,即所提出的解决方案免费提供给消费者。这零成本将获得总共200分。 2X和零之间的任何成本(免费AC单位)将按比例转换为等效点。

举例

如果一项技术(在10万台生产规模下)的评估成本与基准成本相同,也就是35,600卢比,那么这项技术将得到32分。如果一种解决方案的成本是基准水平的2倍,即71,200卢比,按照上文介绍的计算方法,这种解决方案将得到24分。

Black-Power

功率

制冷功率不超过700瓦

详细说明

参赛方案在标准条件以及实验室和实际环境测试中提供1.5 冷吨额定制冷量的同时,其功率不应超过700瓦。最大或峰值功率的计算将使用需量电表以极高频率(几分之一秒)在特定时间段内进行测量。功率如达到700瓦,将比基准水平低60%,比当前市场上现有的高性能机型水平低30%。

原理阐述

降低功率需求可以避免为了满足制冷需求提高所需的新建发电设施和配电系统。根据我们利用国家可再生能源实验室BEOPT工具进行的分析以及对当前现有空调技术的研究,我们相信功率下降60%是可行的。我们的研究还显示,功率降低1/2对应的能耗降低量为2/3。根据这样的关系反推能耗降低80%对应的功率降低60%是可行的。

当前市场现有的高性能空调机型最大功率为1000-1200瓦,例如格力1.5 TR Hyper Hi-wall变频热泵(型号GWH18QE -K6DNC8D)和富士通1.5 TR单独区域小型分体式热泵(型号18RLXFW1)。

此外,太阳能光伏(PV)、电池储能和外太空辐射制冷等替代技术都能够提供降低最大功率的机会。

Black-Water

用水量

制冷解决方案每日运行所需的现场用水量应少于14升。

说明

如果建议的解决方案运行所需的现场用水量,平均每年不超过14升,最高每日限量为28升。

原理阐述

制冷技术应做到用水量无增长,即技术的用水量不得超过自身通过节能所节约的水量。此外,新的空调机型用水量不得超过一户家庭生活用水总量的10%。

印度电力部门2014年每生产1千瓦时电力的平均耗水量为2.1升(2.1升/千瓦时)。由于新空调机型气候影响为基准值的1/5,效率的提高每天可以节水28升(夏季)。

保守计算,在可再生能源占电网高比例情景下,到2030年电力部门每生产1千瓦时电力的用水量将为1.57升。使用这一数字,更高效空调机型在夏季能够每天节水20升。一个印度家庭平均每天的生活用水量为400升。

Slice 1 Created with Sketch.

排放

不应包含任何以化石能源为燃料的场内自备电源或热源

详细说明

该制冷解决方案不应通过采用任何场内化石能源为空调机的运行生产热力或电力。

原理阐述

该制冷解决方案不应使用任何场内化石能源作为燃料来运行空调机。分布式燃烧源不但会对住宅造成安全隐患,并且不利于提高可再生能源上网比例以及降低电网排放强度。

Black-Materials

制冷剂

方案应使用臭氧消耗潜能值(ODP)为0,毒性较低(A级)并符合IEC 60335-2-40或ISO 5149标准要求的制冷剂

详细说明

制冷解决方案应按照蒙特利尔议定书要求使用ODP为0的制冷剂。

制冷解决方案应按照ISO 817:2014标准的要求使用毒性较低(A级)的制冷剂。

制冷解决方案应能够满足测试所在市场的规范,如果测试所在市场没有成文规范,则应满足国际指导性IEC 60335-2-40(2018版或最新修正版)或ISO 5149:2014中有关使用易燃制冷剂系统安全性和环保性的规定。

除以上要求,包括气候影响计算中对制冷剂GWP值的要求外,技术评审委员会还会对与基准机型不同的制冷剂加注量进行特别考虑。

原理阐述

为了减轻制冷需求的环境影响,制冷技术所使用的制冷剂应遵守蒙特利尔议定书对于0臭氧消耗潜力值的要求。所使用的制冷剂还应该符合A级毒性标准,并符合测试市场或国际安全标准,从而确保制冷技术可以在住宅空调行业得到安全应用。

Black-Scalability

可规模化

可应用于现有住房,不需要特别的工程设计解决方案

详细说明

该制冷解决方案的安装不需要任何重要基础设施升级或对现有住宅的结构性改变。例如,超高效且气候友好空调机的安装不得要求现有多户公寓建筑更换外墙或进行主要结构、电气或管道系统升级。如果参赛方案为分体式空调,室外机体积不得超过0.27立方米,室内机体积不得超过0.15立方米。如果参赛方案为一体式空调机,其最大体积不得超过0.42立方米。解决方案设备的体积大小应包含方案内的任何专用可再生能源发电电源的大小。

原理阐述

该制冷解决方案需要能够安装在新建建筑以及现有建筑中。因为现有蒸汽压缩空调技术不需要公寓内的主要电气或管道工程,所以新的超高效且气候友好空调机型也应能够在相同市场条件下得到规模化应用。

该制冷解决方案应具备合理的尺寸,从而可以被方便地运输和安装于多数建筑。为了确保可行解决方案具备广泛适用性,其体积大小不得超过普通空调机型的2倍。参考尺寸机型为2018年7月市面有售的1.5 TR定频Voltas小型分体式空调机,型号为Voltas Split AC 183 JZJ1。

室内机:990 x 315 x 242 mm (长x高x宽) = 0.0755 m3

室外机:840 x 540 x 300 (长x高x宽) = 0.136 m3

Black-Materials

材料

参赛制冷解决方案应尽量减少使用隐含碳或稀土材料含量高的材料。

详细说明

全球制冷技术创新大奖赛对参赛技术材料使用隐含碳和稀土材料没有绝对要求,但在最终评奖过程中,技术评审委员会将依据他们的判断,对使用了高含量碳材料或稀土材料的解决方案进行全寿命周期影响评估。

原理阐述

该制冷解决方案不应由于采用了含有高隐含碳材料或使用大量稀土材料而在未来造成不良后果。对技术的全寿命周期影响评估可以更深入地了解这些后果。因此,该制冷解决方案应在开发下一代创新空调解决方案的过程中优化材料,并在可能的条件下尽量减少此类材料的使用。

Black-Operations

运行要求

该解决方案应能够在标准室外条件下提供1.5 TR制冷量,并在测试期间能够维持低于27摄氏度的室内干球温度和60%的室内相对湿度

详细说明

该解决方案应该能够依据IS 1391(第一部分):2017、IS 1391(第二部分):2018和ISO 1638:1 – 2013的要求,在35摄氏度干球温度(DBT)和24摄氏度湿球温度(WBT)的标准测试条件下提供1.5 TR制冷量。IS 1391标准将被用于样机(例如一体机或分体机)设计测试。

在实验室和实际公寓测试中,制冷解决方案(样机)应该能够在测试阶段的不同室外条件下维持室内低于27摄氏度的干球温度和60%的相对湿度。样机和基准机型都将在测试期间全天候进行连续性运行,从而确定它们的能耗,同时评估它们维持理想室内环境的能力。由于样机启动需要时间,并且样机的操作精度可能不及开发完善的基准机型,我们允许一定的“未满足条件小时数”。请查看“测试协议”页面了解更多有关测试方法的细节。

原理阐述

为了维持舒适和健康的室内环境,湿度必须得到控制。同样地,27摄氏度越来越多地在国际上被设定为空调的标准室内目标温度。由于基准机型已开发数年,能够在不同运行条件下提供稳定的性能输出。因此我们设计了“未满足条件小时数”来反映参赛样机在开发初级阶段可能遇到的性能上的小问题。

Prize Details

Prize Criteria

The Prize Criteria for the Global Cooling Prize have been developed such that these are performance based ensuring that the prize is accessible to all technologies and fully technology agnostic. The Prize Criteria includes two primary criteria (climate impact and affordability) and additional supplementary criteria that are required to be met by all competing technologies.

All the performance metrics will be compared with the baseline unit

Learn More

Baseline Unit

Explanation
The baseline room air-conditioning unit selected is a 1.5 TR fixed-speed, mini-split type unit (no outdoor air supplied by unit) with an Energy Efficiency Ratio (EER) of 3.5 W/W and using R410A refrigerant with a global warming potential (GWP) of 2,088. The baseline unit’s electricity consumption is based on RMI’s energy model, simulating a 90 sq. meter apartment with south and east exposure, in New Delhi, India and is determined to be 2,969 kWh/year.
Rationale
The baseline unit was intended to be the most common, average efficiency room air-conditioning unit being sold in 2018. Fixed-speed air-conditioning units accounted for a majority of the residential room air-conditioner market in India in 2018. After reviewing research reports and manufacturer’s websites, we believe a fixed-speed EER 3.5 W/W, R410A mini split unit is most representative of new units being sold in 2018.
Black-Thermostat - Climate Impact

Climate Impact: Energy and Refrigerant

Must have 5X less climate impact than the baseline unit: Energy and Refrigerant Criteria

Explanation

The cooling solution must show the potential for at least 80% lower climate impact than the climate impact of the baseline unit. The climate impact is evaluated through the combination of reduction in grid electricity consumption (kWh) and reduction in global warming potential (GWP) of the refrigerant used. The 80:20 weighting will be used for electricity and refrigerant respectively, to arrive at the overall climate impact of the cooling solution. The reduction in grid electricity consumption will also be assessed through a side-by-side operation testing - a combination of lab and real-world testing.

Rationale

Residential cooling demand is expected to increase by 5X in developing countries over the next 30 years. A cooling solution that has 5X lower climate impact is needed to reverse the trend in increasing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions due to this unprecedented growth in cooling demand. We believe 5X strikes the right balance between being a breakthrough that has not yet been done and being one that is achievable. Current best available air conditioning units are already approaching 3.5X lower climate impact than baseline. We reviewed a number of breakthrough technologies and have sketched out theoretical paths to achieving up to 5X less grid electricity use based on combining technology that already exists today. This when combined with a low GWP refrigerant could take us beyond the 5X climate impact requirement.

The weighting for electricity and refrigerant is based on RMI modeling and the report of the Technology and Economic Assessment Panel (TEAP) in 2018, which show that refrigerant emissions are ~ 20 percent of life-cycle GHG emissions for room air conditioners, and operational emissions are ~ 80 percent, taking into account developing market grid emissions intensity factors.

Evaluation and Scoring

To achieve a 5X lower climate impact, an overall reduction of 80% (electricity kWh and refrigerant GWP combined) as compared to the baseline will be required. For example, if a technology achieves a 75% reduction in electricity from the baseline and also uses a zero GWP refrigerant, it achieves a 100% reduction from the GWP baseline (R410A at a GWP of 2088). The overall percentage reduction achieved using the assigned 80:20 weighting would be 80% or 5X lower climate impact. This weighted percentage reduction from the baseline will then be converted to equivalent points. A zero percent reduction from the baseline i.e. a technology at baseline will receive zero points. A technology achieving 100% reduction from the baseline will receive 100 points. Any percentage reduction between 0% and 100% will be ratably converted to equivalent points between 0 to 100.

If a participant can demonstrate in their application that the cooling technology effectively delivers the full 5X lower climate impact through a combination of the standalone unit performance and reducing energy consumption in adjacent systems (example: reduced energy consumption for hot water generation), the Technical Review Committee may decide to consider such application as complying with the climate impact criteria. In such a case, the technical review committee will include the corresponding incremental climate impact and to the degree appropriate award additional points.

This scoring methodology will be used to evaluate the Detailed Technical Application of the participants and rank the top 10 finalists. To the extent that the total number of qualifying finalists selected, that meet or exceed the 5X lower climate impact criteria, falls short of the desired number of teams to go through to the final round, the Technical Review Committee may decide to invite designs that meet all other prize criteria for the prize (mentioned below), show high early stage potential to exceed 80% climate impact reduction in the future and currently exceed at least a 64% climate impact reduction from the baseline, to develop prototypes for testing.

Following field and lab testing of the baseline unit and proposed solution, the top 10 cooling solutions will receive an updated score following the same scoring methodology.

Example

If a technology achieves a 75% reduction in electricity from the baseline and also uses a zero GWP refrigerant, it achieves a 100% reduction from the GWP baseline (R410A at a GWP of 2088). The overall percentage reduction achieved using the assigned 80:20 weighting would be 80% or 5X lower climate impact. Therefore, this technology will receive 80 points. Similarly, if the technology is powered by solar PV mounted on it without exceeding the overall unit volumetric sizing criteria and uses zero GWP refrigerant, it achieves an overall reduction of 100% from the baseline and will receive 100 points.

CLOSE
Black-Affordability

Affordability

Must demonstrate cost potential at manufacturing scale of no more than twice (2X) the baseline unit cost

Explanation

The assessed first cost of the solution at manufacturing scale must be no more than two times (2X) the baseline AC unit cost. The assessed first cost of the competing technologies will be determined by an independent panel of industrial engineers at a manufacturing scale of 100,000 units. The panel of industrial engineers will use the submitted bill of materials to arrive at the assessed cost figure. The typical margins and distribution costs will be added to this assessed cost to arrive at the final cost to the consumer excluding the Goods and Services Tax (GST).

The cost of any renewable generation source incorporated as part of the design will be considered in determining the total cost to the extent that it is required to achieve the stated 5X lower climate impact i.e. the total cost of the solution including the appropriate proportion of renewable source cost must be no more than 2X the cost of the baseline AC unit.

The baseline unit’s cost to the consumer provided below for year 2017-18 acts as a reference for the purpose of helping the participants to determine the target cost of their prototype. The baseline unit’s cost will be finalized by the technical review committee with reference to the previous full year’s average cost of a 1.5 TR fixed speed 3-star split air conditioner offered by the market player with highest share.

Rationale

Points will be awarded to the cooling technology based on assessed cost estimates. A hypothetical zero cost will receive 40 points and a five-times cost from the baseline will receive zero points. Any assessed cost figure between the zero and five times of the baseline cost will be ratably converted to equivalent points.

If a competing technology is not able to achieve the 2X cost limit at assessed scale but the participants can demonstrate in their application that the cooling technology brings reduced cost benefits in adjacent systems, the Technical Review Committee may decide to consider such applications as complying with the criteria and reflect the corresponding reduction in costs.

Evaluation and Scoring

A solution that achieves the 2X cost criteria will receive a total of 100 points. We also incorporate the hypothetical case of zero cost i.e. the proposed solution is made available to consumers free of cost. This zero cost will receive a total of 200 points. Any cost between the 2X and zero (free AC unit) will be ratably converted to equivalent points.

Example

A technology that has the assessed cost (at manufacturing scale of 100,000 units) at par with the baseline cost i.e. INR 35, 600, will receive 32 points. A solution that costs twice the baseline unit (2X) i.e. INR 71,200, will receive 24 points using the scoring method described above.

CLOSE
Black-Power

Power Draw

Power consumption at full load i.e. rated cooling output, should not exceed 700 W

Explanation

The maximum power drawn by the solution from the electricity grid should not exceed 700 W while delivering the rated cooling capacity of 1.5 TR under standard conditions as well as over the span of lab and real-world test. The maximum or peak power draw will be calculated by using demand meters which sample at a very high frequency (fraction of a second) to determine maximum power drawn by the equipment in a given time period. The maximum draw, 700 W, represents a 60 percent reduction from baseline, and a 30 percent reduction from typical high performing units available in the market.

Rationale

Reducing power demand is critical in avoiding new power generation and distribution systems that would otherwise be needed to meet increased demand for cooling. Based on our analysis using the NREL's BEOPT tool, and review of currently available air-conditioning technology, we believe a 60 percent power reduction is achievable. Our research also shows that a 2X decrease in power is associated with a 3X reduction in energy consumption. Extending this relationship to about 5X level of efficiency suggests that a 60 percent reduction in power draw is achievable.

Typical high-performance units available today are at ~1000 - 1200 W max power draw. Examples include Gree’s 1.5 TR Hyper Hi -wall Inverter Heat Pump (model no GWH18QE -K6DNC8D) and Fujitsu’s 1.5 TR single zone mini-split heat pump (model no 18RLXFW1).

In addition, alternative technologies such as solar photovoltaics (PV), battery storage, and deep space radiative cooling could offer further opportunity for reducing maximum power draw.

CLOSE
Black-Water

Water

Water consumption, if needed, for operation should not exceed 14 liters per day

Explanation

The onsite water consumption, if any is required for operation of the proposed solution, should not exceed 14 liters per day when averaged over a year with a maximum daily limit of 28 liters.

Rationale

The cooling technology should be water neutral; that is, the technology must not use more water than it saves through reduced energy consumption. Additionally, the new AC unit must use less than 10 percent of the water used for domestic purposes by a single household.

On average, the power sector in India consumed 2.1 cubic meters of water per megawatt-hour (2.1 liters per kilowatt-hour) of energy produced in 2014. Since the new AC unit will have 5X lower climate impact, the increased efficiency will reduce water consumption by 28 liters per day (during summer months).

To be conservative, in a high renewable-energy scenario in 2030, the power sector will consume 1.57 liters of water per kilowatt-hour of electricity produced. Using this number, the higher-efficiency AC unit will save 20 liters of water per day during summer months. A household in India consumes an average of 400 liters of water per day for domestic purposes.

CLOSE
Slice 1 Created with Sketch.

Emissions

Should have zero onsite emissions from any fossil fuel based captive power source or heat source

Explanation

The cooling solution should not combust fossil fuels onsite to generate a heating medium or electricity for operation of the unit.

Rationale

The proposed cooling solution should not use any onsite combustion technology to operate the unit. Including distributed combustion sources not only possesses potential safety concerns for residential applications, but also undermines the impact of increasing penetration of renewables in the electricity grid and the corresponding reduction in grid emissions intensity.

CLOSE
Black-Materials

Refrigerant

Should use a refrigerant that has zero Ozone Depleting Potential (ODP), is of lower toxicity (Class A) and complies with IEC 60335-2-40 or ISO 5149

Explanation

The cooling solution should use a refrigerant that has a zero ODP in line with the Montreal Protocol.

The cooling solution should use a lower toxicity (Class A) refrigerant as per ISO 817:2014 standard.

The cooling solution should be capable of meeting test market regulations, or in their absence, international guidelines IEC 60335-2-40 (2018 or latest amended version) or ISO 5149:2014 pertaining to safety and environment performance of systems using flammable refrigerants.

In addition to above requirements, including the GWP of the refrigerant reflected in the Climate impact calculation, the Technical Review Committee may also take into consideration the charge quantity where materially different to that of the baseline unit.

Rationale

To mitigate the environmental impact from cooling, the refrigerant that is used should abide by the Montreal Protocol of zero ODP refrigerant. The refrigerant used should also meet the Class A toxicity criteria and comply with the test market or international safety standards to ensure it is safe use in the air conditioners for residential sector.

CLOSE
Black-Scalability

Scalability

Should be usable in existing homes, rather than requiring a "designed in" engineering solution

Explanation

The total volumetric size of the cooling solution should not be more than two times the volumetric size of the baseline unit i.e. the total volumetric size should not exceed 0.42 cubic meters. The total volumetric size must include any dedicated renewable power generation resources and any external components that make up the proposed solution.

In addition, the installation of the cooling solution should not require any major infrastructure upgrades or structural modification to existing dwellings. For example, the installation of the super-efficient and climate friendly air conditioner units cannot mandate replacement of walls or major structural, electrical, or plumbing upgrades to existing multifamily apartment buildings.

Rationale

The cooling solution is expected to be installed in new construction buildings as well as in existing building stock. Since the prevalent vapor-compression technology does not require major in-apartment electrical or plumbing work, the new super-efficient and climate friendly air conditioning units should be able to scale in the same market conditions.

The cooling solution should be of a reasonable size such that it can be easily transported and installed in most buildings. In order to ensure viable solutions that are widely applicable, total volumetric size is limited to twice the size of a typical AC unit. Reference dimensions are based on the 1.5 TR, fixed speed Voltas mini split unit available in July 2018, the Voltas Split AC 183 JZJ1.

Indoor Unit: 990 x 315 x 242 mm (WxHxD) = 0.0755 m3

Outdoor Unit: 840 x 540 x 300 (WxHxD) = 0.136 m3

CLOSE
Black-Materials

Materials

Use of materials with excessively high embodied carbon or rare earth materials should be minimized

Explanation

There will be no threshold requirements in relation to embodied carbon and rare earth materials, but the Technical Review Committee will, at their discretion, include life cycle impact assessment of any solution if they believe, in their judgement, that the solution includes materials with excessively high embodied carbon or rare earth materials, in their final determination of suitability for progression to award.

Rationale

The cooling solution should not result in unintended consequences in the future by use of materials that have excessively high embodied carbon or by using high quantities of rare earth materials. A life cycle impact assessment of any technology allows us to understand these consequences in greater depth. The cooling solutions should therefore focus on optimizing, and where possible minimizing the use of such materials, in developing the next generation innovative air conditioning solutions.

CLOSE
Black-Operations

Operation

Should be designed to meet a 1.5 TR cooling load at standard outdoor conditions and maintain below 27°C DBT and 60% RH indoor conditions for testing period

Explanation

The solution should be able to deliver the cooling capacity of 1.5 TR under the standard test conditions of 35°C dry bulb temperature (DBT) and 24°C wet bulb temperature (WBT) as specified in IS 1391 (Part 1): 2017, IS 1391 (Part 2): 2018 and ISO 16358:1 - 2013. The IS 1391 standard, as applicable to the testing of prototype design (example: unitary or split type), will be followed accordingly.

During testing in the lab and real-world apartments, the cooling solution or prototype should be able to maintain below 27°C DBT and 60% RH indoor conditions under varying outdoor conditions for the duration of the test period. The prototypes as well as the baseline unit will be operated in a continuous operation mode for all days of the testing period to determine their energy consumption while assessing their ability to maintain the desired indoor conditions. An “unmet hours” allowance will be provided recognizing that the ramp up period and precision of operation of prototypes is likely to be less than that of the established baseline unit. Please refer to Testing Protocol page for more details on testing method.

Rationale

In order to maintain comfort and a healthy indoor environment, humidity must be controlled. Also, a temperature of 27˚C is increasingly being used internationally as the standard indoor set point for air-conditioning ratings. We recognize that the baseline unit has been developed over the years to deliver a stable performance under different operating conditions and hence unmet hours allowance is considered recognizing the performance glitches that prototypes may encounter during early stage.

CLOSE